Sesame Cookies

Today is Sesame Cookies 🍪 day! Now I love black sesame desserts (yes, I have grandma tastes 👵🏻) such as ice cream, pudding, etc so I was looking forward to this recipe! I’m pretty sure this would go well with the Matcha I made the night before. The difficulty is set to Medium so let’s see how this goes 💪🏻

The recipe wasn’t too bad except I had to go to an Asian market to get the black sesame seeds. Unfortunately the western market only had poppy seeds and they’re not the same. The almond flour I’m rather curious about 😯

First step is to prepare the black sesame seeds. I don’t have a food processor so I used my good ol’ suribachi and surikogi which is a Japanese mortar and pestle. This brings back childhood memories in the Philippines when my mom would ask me to crush some garlic cloves and chili peppers 👧🏻🥣 I was 5-6 years old when I started helping her in the kitchen. This tool works as well as I remembered 😊

Then time to mix the powders together.

On another bowl I’ve combined the butter and sugar together, and later on added the honey 🍯

Once the two bowl mixtures are ready, I merged them on a bigger bowl. Man, it smelled so good when I was mixing it 🤤

When the dough was ready, it was time to align the soldiers 🍪🍪🍪 Strangely enough, this recipe was expected to produce 24 cookies. However when I followed the instructions and measurements, I ended up with 37 cookies… I think this book is based on estimate rather than accuracy 🤨 Afterwards I let it cool in the fridge for an hour.

An hour later I took them out, pressed each ball into a disk and placed them in the oven in 4 batches. 

Man there were a lot of cookies 😵

And thus, an army of ✨Sesame Cookies✨ were born!

Now how does it taste? Tastes like black sesame as expected but not sweet like a typical cookie. Quite different compared to my favorite black sesame desserts 🍨 It has the same texture as the Coffee Biscuits but the flavor is toned down. It’ll go really well with the Matcha.  

This recipe wasn’t hard to make (not sure why they’d label it as Medium) although some measurements were a little off. I’d say it’s not heavy in flavor but it is filling. For sure it will go well with coffee or tea. It’ll be the perfect balance. 

Leave a comment