Mole Loaf

Alright, time to pack up on some protein 🍖 So what’s on the menu? Mole Loaf 🥘 with difficulty level set on Medium. Ooh, it’s been a while since I did that level so let’s see how this goes.  

The ingredients are kind of interesting. When I say “interesting” it means I’m a little skeptical 😅 I’m still used to eating lamb as steak but with tonkatsu sauce and fish sauce… Can’t judge until it’s done 🤷🏻‍♀️

First thing to do on the list is chop the vegetables which is not much 🔪 🧅 🧄

Then caramelize the onions 🔥 and let it cool off afterwards 🧊

While the onions were cooling off I started working on the egg mixture for the patty so it’ll stick together 🥣

Afterwards I went back to the onions and slowly started incorporating the other ingredients one at a time so it will mix well.

Once it’s all combined, I added in the egg mixture. That really held it together 👍🏻

When all was good I divided it into 4 patties and slapped it back and forth between my hands to make sure there’s no air bubble in it before putting it into the pan 🔥 I’ve learned that method prevents the patty from falling apart 🤓 The kitchen smelled so good at this point 💕

Now that the meat is cooked, time to do the sauce 👩🏻‍🍳 The instruction said to cook it on the same pan but there was too much oil from the meat so I ended up using another pan and poured in a little bit of the meat oil in it. It didn’t take long for it to cook.

Finally I put it all together and voila! The Mole Loaf 🥘

So how does it taste? It’s alright. I still like the taste of lamb by itself without other things so I’m a bit biased. Also I’m used to having tonkatsu sauce with chicken, pork and beef. Perhaps sometimes seafood 🤔 Lamb just has a very distinct taste to it. Personally I think there’s too much flavors going on. Not that it’s bad, but I wouldn’t mind eating the patty by itself without the sauce.

Overall this is an okay dish. It wasn’t hard to make but then again I’m used to making hamburger steak 😋 The patty was good but the sauce just wasn’t for me. Good to try though!

1 Comment

Leave a comment