Spinach Sauté

The second dish I’ve made from the Sides section is the Spinach Sauté 🥬 Another simple dish with difficulty level set on Easy. I figure I should try to cook something healthy for once 😆

Yep, not much ingredients required and it looks like it has some Asian influence in it 🤔

Before the chopping, I’ve prepared a pot of water to boil. I’m pretty sure by the time I’m done with the vegetables, the water will be ready to cook the gai lans.

And now time to prepare the vegetables 🥬 🧄 🔪

When the water started boiling, I put in the stems first since they take longer to cook. In a few minutes I put in the leaves and when it’s all cooked, I drained in out.

Time to make the sauce! I cooked the garlic and ginger in a pan and then transferred it to a bowl where I added in the rest of the ingredients… To me this is quite an odd mix. What’s throwing me off is the combination of garlic, ginger, honey and vinegar. And on gai lans which already has a distinct taste. I’m southeast Asian and this combination is kind of off 🤨 But I can’t judge until the dish is done. 

In just a few minutes after I’ve arranged the gai lans on a plate and poured the sauce on top, the Spinach Sauté 🥬 is finish!

Now how does it taste? Funky 😅 I knew the combination was weird. Too many things going on here. The bitterness from the gai lan, sourness from the vinegar, sweetness from honey, and plus garlic and ginger… No 🙅🏻‍♀️ Should’ve kept it simple. Garlic, soy sauce, sesame oil and regular spinach would’ve been fine.

Very interesting. I usually like my vegetables, but this is such a bizarre combination. Honestly I wasn’t sure what was going on there. Welp at least it was easy to make and I gave it a try 🤷🏻‍♀️

1 Comment

Leave a comment