Chocobo Cake

Woo, finally a 3-day weekend ๐Ÿฅณ๐ŸŽ‰ Memorial Day is the first holiday in the company and yeah, I had to wait almost half a year for it (no rest for the wicked ๐Ÿ˜ˆ). To celebrate this holiday, Iโ€™ve decided to take on a challenging recipe: Chocobo Cake ๐ŸŽ‚ And this big boyโ€™s difficulty is set on Hard. Iโ€™m super excited because itโ€™s my first time baking a cake so letโ€™s see how this goes ๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿปโ€๐Ÿณ

This one required a lot of ingredients. Thankfully this cookbook has been using mostly the same ingredients so aside from strawberries I didnโ€™t really need to get anything new. Just restock on eggs and butter ๐Ÿ˜Œ

Before jumping into the mixes, I first need to prepare the cake pans with parchment paper and non-stick spray.

Then I prepared the flour mix.

When that was done, I jumped on to the wet mix. It started with sugar and butter, then eggs and vanilla. 

Afterwards I added half the flour mix and stirred. Later on I added the oat milk, and finally the remaining flour mix. I blend it all together until itโ€™s fully combined ๐Ÿฅฃ

When the cake batter was ready, I divided it evenly on the cake pans and placed them in the oven ๐Ÿ”ฅ

While the cake was baking, I washed and dried the dishes and prepared the syrup which was the easiest thing to do ๐Ÿ˜„

In 40 minutes, the cake was cooked and ready to be cooled off on the wire rack. According to the cookbook, itโ€™ll take an hour for it to be completely cooled off.

As the cakes were blowing off steam, I started working on the strawberries ๐Ÿ“ I separated them in two bowls: ones that will go on the top and the rest will be sliced to be placed in the middle.

And the last thing to do is whip some cream for the frosting ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿป

But before putting it all together, I had to even out the cake by trimming the bump at the top.

Now for my favorite part: โœจassemblingโœจ Here we go ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

First piece is the first layer of the cake and it needed some syrup to add some flavor.

Next is spreading the whipped cream frosting on top.

To make it sweet, add in the sliced strawberries. It gave the cake some colors as well ๐ŸŽจ

Then I added more whipped cream to cover the strawberries.

And here we have the second cake layer and final brushes of syrup. When I placed it on top it looks like a giant burger ๐Ÿ”

Now that the foundation is done, time to work on the beautification ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ Before using the remaining whipped cream I transfer a portion of it into the piping bag just to make sure I have enough for decoration.

First to do is cover the entire cake with whipped cream and then I slowly made my way with the decoration.

Since the basic is done, now on to the finale ๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿป๐Ÿ”ฅ

After having so much fun placing the strawberries and decorating the top, it all came together beautifully ๐Ÿ’– Allow me to present the Chocobo Cake ๐ŸŽ‚ Iโ€™m so happy how it turned out ๐Ÿฅฐ

So how does this glamorous cake taste? Itโ€™s alright ๐Ÿ˜… The whipped cream was really good but the cake itself, I feel is a little bit lacking. Then again it is vanilla cake and it is a bit dense. I can see why a fat chocobo would fly for this. Itโ€™s very filling and enough for me to do a half marathon the following day.

This cake took hours to make (almost 5 hours) and itโ€™s a lot taller than I expected. Although it lacks in flavor, I had a lot of fun baking it ๐Ÿค— It required a lot of patience and a whole load of washing. Would I ever bake a cake again? I think Iโ€™ll just buy it next time ๐Ÿ˜†

Leave a comment