Papansi

The last challenge of Sweet February: Papansi 🤗 I chose this one because 1) I was craving donuts and 2) the difficulty level for this is Medium. Since I’ve been doing hard and easy, I decided to finish it with something in between. 

Ingredient shopping for this challenge was pretty fun because there were a lot of things to get 🛒 Not only do I have to get ingredients for the Doughnuts but also for the Sour Cream Sauce and Rolandberry Jam 👩🏻‍🍳

 The Sour Cream Sauce was the easiest to make. Just mix the ingredients then store it in the fridge.

The Rolandberry Jam took a little longer because I had to let it simmer for 30 minutes and smash the berries. Once that’s done, I let it cool and store it in the fridge just like the Sour Cream Sauce.

And now onto the doughnuts. To prepare this I had to use 2 different bowls; one for the flour mixture and the other for the ricotta cheese mixture.

Then I combine them together.

Now here’s the tricky part which I think should change this difficulty level to Hard instead of Medium 😓 On the cookbook it says the batter will be sticky but workable. If it’s too sticky, simply add flour on it… This sucker is sticky regardless how many flour I’ve used 😥 It also says on the cookbook to round it into a ball and pinch the center to shape it like a doughnut… This thing doesn’t even stay in shape 😰

So I had to work with what I have and shaped it at the last minute before deep frying it. Surprisingly it worked but it was such a pain in the butt 😓

And I survived cooking 8 Doughnuts Savage 🥳 🎉

Thankfully I can cover its imperfection with the Sour Cream Sauce and Rolandberry Jam. Voila! The Papansi is complete 💁🏻‍♀️💖

Final test is the taste… Ooh it’s pretty darn good 😍 The doughnut was crunchy on the outside and fluffy inside while the Sour Cream Sauce and Rolandberry Jam harmonize the flavor that makes it sweet with a slight tart. Basically, it tastes like funnel cake with fruit yogurt on top❣️ Despite the difficult process of making it, this is one of my favorites 🥰

And that completes the February Baking Challenge ✨👩🏻‍🍳✨ It’s quite an experience that requires a lot of patience and problem solving if things don’t go well. My boyfriend is kind of sad because he thinks I’m just done with baking all together 😅 I assured him this was only the beginning and I’ll be sure to be making more dishes from the cookbook. Perhaps it won’t be every weekend though. While it was fun, it was also kind of expensive. Regardless I’m glad I chose this challenge 😊

Next month’s challenge will be interesting… 😅

Leave a comment