13 Drawings of Christmas!

Since this year has been quite an expensive year, I’ve decided to gift my FC friends a surprise artwork. Some people have asked if I do commissions before and I always say no because I have no interest in it. However on this special occasion, I will do it for my friends šŸ™‚

Armed with a mechanical pencil, kneaded eraser, and ear q-tip, the first piece I’ve worked on was Teira because I figured she has the most detailed hair… Mind you I have not drawn in months (over half a year) so I could’ve sworn I was close to getting carpal tunnel afterwards >XD But man, the joys of drawing again!

After Teira (11/19) I’ve worked on 12 more people, nearly one per day: Misha (11/20), Dea (11/21), Haruka (11/22), Fei (11/23), Alita (11/25), Maon (11/27), Kage (11/29), Oro (11/29), General (12/1), Fahna (12/2), Ixi (12/3) and Jack (12/7). I actually drew Jack twice (12/6 & 12/7) because I wasn’t satisfied with the first one. It looked like a mugshot, lol.

Out of all the drawings, I actually enjoyed doing the Au Ras because of the details. They are challenging and I like that. My hand did get sore that I had to take breaks every few days and wear a hand brace for support. All well worth it ā¤

03

It doesn’t stop there because now it’s time to get fancy (12/8)! For the mattings I got brown, blue, white and gray. All double matted too. Heh, I’m picky like that.

This really made a difference and added some spice into it. Aside from highlighting the piece, it also protects it with its sturdiness. Originally I was thinking about getting an actual frame but 1) they’re bulky, 2) I’ll worry about glass breaking when it’s mailed out and 3) they’re a little more expensive, lol. And I didn’t find any good ones.

And man oh man, I am super happy with how they all turned out! ā¤

09

After they’re all matted, signed and dated, it’s time for the wrapping (12/9)! I love how some of their eyes showed between the tissue like Dea’s. It’s like she’s peaking.

Once they’re all done, time to mail them out (12/10). Just create the mailing labels online, print them out, stick them on the box and drop them off instead of standing in the long line at the post office. Good lawd, I forgot how expensive it was to mail things to Canada (=.=) Thankfully they got it in time!

Their reaction? Priceless šŸ™‚

So yeah, that’s my holiday presents for my FC buddies ā¤ You can find all 13 drawings in Traditional Art.

1 Comment

Leave a comment